The Dawleys

Sunday, January 20, 2013

2 3/4

In less than 3 months, Ella will be 3!! At 2 3/4, Ella is still a sweet and sensitive girl.  Her favorite things to do are play with her Squinkies, dance around the play room to her Brave music, do crafts like coloring and painting, play outside, and run around the dining room table over and over with her shopping cart or baby doll stroller. She loves to count things. She loves to help me bake, set the table, or help out with other chores.  She also loves going to Target, Whole Foods, the library, and music class.  If I let her, which I don't, she would probably watch TV all day long.  Her favorite shows are Daniel Tiger's Neighborhood, Super Why, Doc McStuffins, and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.  I let her watch one or two shows a day.  She usually picks Daniel Tiger. Ella is an extremely picky eater, but her favorite foods are Larabars (she eats 1-2 a day), blueberries, dried cranberries and nuts like cashews and pistachios, Annie's Gluten Free Macaroni and Cheese, Amy's Lentil Soup, Dr. Praeger's Gluten Free fish sticks, and mixed vegetables (peas, carrots, corn, lima beans, and green beans).
Some things I would like to remember:
She refers to snowballs as cotton balls.
She says, "Santa says, "Ho Ho Ho." Charlie Brown says, "Good Grief." Grandpa says, "Oh boy!"
She says "Kiss hugs."
When she runs out of the bath to give me hugs, she says, "Snacks my buns, Mommy! Snacks my buns!"
When I am driving, she notices the stoplights and will say when we should stop or go.
When I am carrying things down the stairs or chopping veggies for dinner, she will tell me to be careful.
She always asks if she can "escersize" with us.
When she is feeling mischievous, she will call her Daddy "Dave" because she knows it bothers him.:)
She says her name is Ella and Big Girl.
Our weeks right now typically look like this:
Monday: Grandpa comes over in the morning to play.
Tuesday: Music class and lately we have been having lunch at Whole Foods afterwards.
Wednesday: stay home or go to the library for Story Time or just to check out books
Thursday: stay home or run any errands
Friday: grocery shopping
Weekends: I usually work so Ella and Dave spend QT time together.  We usually try to get out of the house as a family before or after I work though.
We do Montessori activities, sensory activities, and art throughout the week when we aren't playing or doing chores. We no longer watch the neighbor kids as the little girl was very rough with Ella and extremely rude to both me and Ella.  She even hit Ella over the head with a toy golf club and left a bruise.  Now that we don't watch them, Ella tells me she is glad we don't go over there any more.  This morning actually, Ella saw boxing on ESPN that her Daddy was watching.  She said they weren't being nice to each other like Evie isn't nice to her.  It was funny to hear her compare the neighbor to a boxer, but in her eyes (and mine too) they are pretty similar!
It's hard to believe that 2 is almost over! I love seeing Ella grow and her personality emerge even more, but of course I am sad to see her become more girl and less toddler every day.